Monday, November 30, 2009


Peep this awesome cover for the new Ted Leo and the Pharmacists album The Brutalist Bricks, the first release from the Brooklyn punk bard via his new record deal with Matador Records. Click here to read the post on the Matablog for more information.

Download the first single, "Even Heroes Have To Die", here.

For updates, visit Ted's Web site at

Ted Leo performing "Where Is My Brain?" at Pier 54 in NYC on July 23, 2009:

Wednesday, November 25, 2009


(Nov.24th, 2009 - New York , NY ) – Legendary trip-hop duo Massive Attack are set to release their highly anticipated 5th studio album Heligoland on EMI’s Virgin Records on February 9th, 2010. Last month, the duo released their first new material in three years, giving fans a preview of Heligoland with a 4-song EP Splitting the Atom which features 2 album tracks and 2 album track remixes. Heligoland features an all star cast of guest vocals from Damon Albarn, Hope Sandoval, Martina Topley-Bird, Guy Garvey and Tunde Adebimpe. Long time cohort Horace Andy makes a return alongside Massive Attack founding members Robert Del Naja (3D) and Grand Marshall (Daddy G). Damon also plays bass on ‘’Flat Of The Blade’ and keyboards on ‘Splitting The Atom’ while Portishead’s Adrian Utley plays guitar on ‘Saturday Come Slow’. The band also collaborated with DFA’s Tim Goldsworthy on selected tracks. The cover artwork features an original image by Robert Del Naja.

Over the last three years Robert Del Naja has written and produced soundtracks for a number of films and documentaries, including ‘Trouble In The Water’, ’44 Inch Chest’, ‘In Prison My Whole Life’ and ‘Gomorra’, the latter for which he won the David Di Donatello Award for Best Song. Earlier this year, Massive Attack won the Outstanding Contribution to British Music Award at the Ivor Novello Awards. In September, Massive Attack headlined this year’s Bestival ahead of their first full UK tour in three years. They have just announced a few more UK dates in February and are expected to announce a U.S. tour next year.

Heglioland track listing:

Pray For Rain - featuring Tunde Adebimpe

Babel – featuring Martina Topley-Bird

Splitting The Atom – featuring Robert del Naja/Grant Marshall/Horace Andy

Girl I Love You – featuring Horace Andy

Psyche – featuring Martina Topley-Bird

Flat Of The Blade – featuring Guy Garvey

Paradise Circus – featuring Hope Sandoval

Rush Minute – featuring Robert del Naja

Saturday Come Slow – featuring Damon Albarn

Atlas Air – featuring Robert del Naja

"Psyche" feat. Martina Topley-Bird

Wednesday, November 18, 2009


There is no doubt that one of the most advanced acts to emerge from the first decade of the 21st century was former Fridge guitarist Kieran Hebden's electronic alter ego Four Tet. And he wastes no time in kicking off the next decade with the release of his much anticipated new album on January 25, 2010, entitled There Is Love In You. It is Kieran Hebden’s first full length album in over four years and is his fifth LP to date.

The first single, "Love Cry", is all over the Internet as we speak. Start hunting!

We are very excited about this album here at IRT, needless to say.

Tracklisting is as follows:

1 - Angel Echoes
2 - Love Cry
3 – Circling
4 - Pablo's Heart
5 - Sing
6 - This Unfolds
7 - Reversing
8 - Plastic People
9 - She Just Likes To Fight

For more information, check out the Four Tet page on the Domino Records Web site.

"Love Cry":

Tuesday, November 17, 2009


Sad news today, as Ken Ober, host of one of the greatest game shows of all time, MTV's Remote Control, was found dead over the weekend at the age of 52.

Following the short but historic run of Remote Control, which aired from 1987 through 1989 and helped to launch the careers of comedic greats Colin Quinn, Adam Sandler and Denis Leary, not to mention introducing teen male eyes to one of the hottest women in TV history that was Kari Wuhrer, Ober worked behind the scenes on such shows as Quinn's Tough Crowd on Comedy Central and The New Adventures of Old Christine.

Enjoy these old Remote Control clips and remember the laughs and useless knowledge this Gen-X icon gave us at the dawn of the Reagan era.

Read fellow MTV veteran and rock journalism great Kurt Loder's touching remembrance of Ken here.

Rest in peace, Mr. Ober. Thanks for all the laughs and entertainment at a time when I personally needed it most. -Ed.

Remote Control 1989:

Weird Al vs. LL Cool J vs. Julie Brown episode:

Adam Sandler as "The Stud Boy":

Friday, November 13, 2009


Old Foxhead is back.

Peter Gabriel has announced the track list for his new album, Scratch My Back, due January 25, 2010. This is the first album in a series that will find Gabriel and various other musicians covering each others' material. It was produced by the great Bob Ezrin and features Gabriel tackling a deliciously odd array of tracks from such disparate acts ranging from Radiohead to Randy Newman to the Magnetic Fields to Lou Reed to Paul Simon to Bon Iver.

Gabriel is working with John Metcalfe to re-imagine the compositions. Metcalfe had this to say:

"I have been busy working closely with Peter Gabriel on his Scratch My Back project. This is a song swap with some of the world's most legendary artists and is due for release in the Spring. My role has been to re-interpret the music of the song's he has chosen to cover - quite honerous as some of the songs are among the best known in the last 40 years. The album will be acoustic, using only orchestral instruments (no guitars, drums or world instruments) and range in size from sparse chamber music to a much fuller orchestral sounds. We recently recorded the orchestra at Air Lyndhurst studios (George Martin's studio) in London which was an enormous thrill hearing my arrangements performed by some of the best performers in the U.K. The producer of the album is Canadian legend Bob Ezrin who has recorded dozens of classic albums including Pink Floyd's The Wall. We performed one of the songs, Paul Simon's 'Boy In The Bubble' at Womad back in July. I have been working a lot down at Real World studios editing and mixing and will be continuing with that in the Autumn and it's been a huge privilege to work with the great man."

The track listing for Scratch My Back reads as follows:

Heroes (David Bowie)
The Boy In The Bubble (Paul Simon)
Mirrorball (Elbow)
Flume (Bon Iver)
Listening Wind (Talking Heads)
The Power Of The Heart (Lou Reed)
My Body Is A Cage (Arcade Fire)
The Book Of Love (The Magnetic Fields)
I Think It's Going To Rain Today (Randy Newman)
Apres Moi (Regina Spektor)
Philadelphia (Neil Young)
Street Spirit (Radiohead)

For more information, visit Mr. Gabriel's Web site.

Peter Gabriel performing "Sledgehammer" in Argentina, 2009:

Tuesday, November 3, 2009


Recorded in West Hurley, New York, in a converted church called Dreamland, where such names as Pat Metheny, Herbie Hancock, 10,000 Maniacs, The Lemonheads and The B52s have recorded, with producer/engineer Chris Coady (who has worked with TV on the Radio, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Blonde Redhead, and a bunch of others), Teen Dream is the third album from the Baltimore-based duo Beach House, and their Sub Pop debut.

The new album gives voice to a full universe of unbridled imagination, and the manifestation of Teen Dream has been a welcomed and all-consuming obsession for Beach House the past 9-12 months. Teen Dream will arrive packaged with a companion DVD featuring a video for each song on the album, each by a different director.

Teen Dream arrives on January 26, 2010.


1. Zebra
2. Silver Soul
3. Norway
4. Walk in the Park
5. Used to Be
6. Lover of Mine
7. Better Times
8. 10 Mile Stereo
9. Real Love
10. Take Care