Thursday, July 29, 2010


If you are a fan of the bass guitar, you have undoubtedly heard of Mick Karn, who rose to acclaim in the 70s and 80s as a key member of the English art rock group Japan as well as an incredibly innovative solo career that has earned him a strong following in the progressive rock community.

It has been brought to my attention that Mr. Karn has been diagnosed with an advanced form of cancer and is in a bad way financially. In order to help facilitate the reality of his situation, a donation appeal has been set up on his Web site in order to help keep he and his family in the financial black during these trying times. If you would like to make a donation to assist in the hospice care of this modern rock legend and master of the bass guitar, please send an e-mail to

For more information on the situation, please visit

Japan performing "Art of Parties" from a 1982 episode of the Old Grey Whistle Test:

Japan performing "Swing" from a 1980 episode of the Old Grey Whistle Test:

Mick Karn jamming with DJ Krush:

Tuesday, July 27, 2010


Another sad loss for the Neil Young family. Thoughts and prayers to Mr. Young for the unexpected passing of this understated rock legend whose stunning work on the piano, guitar, saxophone and pedal steel can be heard on such classic tracks as "Heart of Gold" and "Tonight's the Night" and previously served as part of Nashville's "A Team" in the fifties and sixties. With the exception of his solo gigs and his Crazy Horse shows, Ben has been touring with Neil since 1973, and one can only imagine how devastating this loss is for him.

Visit Rolling Stone for a full obit.

"Down By The River" from Ben Keith's final performance with Neil Young at the 2009 Bridge School Benefit Concert:

Ben performing "Too Far Gone" with Neil and Crazy Horse's Frank "Poncho" Sampedro in New York, 1989:

Friday, July 16, 2010


Totally wicked. Due Sept. 14. Track listing below.

01 Mickey Mouse and the Goodbye Man
02 Worm Tamer
03 Heathen Child
04 When My Baby Comes
05 What I Know
06 Evil
07 Kitchenette
08 Palaces of Montezuma
09 Bellringer Blues

To watch a killer pair of trailers for the album directed by longtime Nick Cave pal and film collaborator John Hillcoat, visit the group's Web site.

"Rock 'n' Roll High School" THE RAMONES, 1979

Just watched the 30th Anniversary DVD for a review I'm doing and even all these years later, Rock 'n' Roll High School remains one of the best teen comedies/rock films ever made. Gabba Gabba Hey, suckaz!

Tuesday, July 13, 2010


Another sad day for the Yankees. R.I.P. Mr. Steinbrenner.

Monday, July 12, 2010


First Bob Sheppard, now Harvey Pekar. Godspeed to one of the great American comic novelists. Check out the Times obit here.

"The Harvey Pekar Name Story" by Robert Crumb

Scene from American Splendor where Harvey (played by Paul Giamatti) waxes philosophic about Revenge of the Nerds and White Castle with MTV Genuine Nerd Toby Radloff:

Harvey invades Live at Five with David Letterman during a 1987 episode of Late Night with David Letterman:

PBS Interview with Harvey Pekar:

Thursday, July 8, 2010


Check out this video of Paul McCartney jumping onstage for the encore of Ringo Starr's All-Star 70th Birthday Bash at Radio City this week to tear through, what else, "Birthday". Enjoy and a Happy Belated One, Rings!


Recorded at Marcata Studios in good old Gardiner, NY, the long-awaited Swans reunion album, My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky, will be released on September 21 via frontman Michael Gira's Young God Records. The new album consists of a line-up featuring Gira and original Swan Norman Westberg, later-period members Christoph Hahn and Phil Puleo, as well as Flux Information Sciences guru Chris Pravdica, one-time Swans member/current R.E.M./Venus 3 drummer Bill Rieflin and Shearwater percussionist Thor Harris, not to mention Grasshopper of Mercury Rev on "a swarm of mandolins". The album also features Gira's three-year-old daughter Saoirse singing on a song the charmingly titled "You Fucking People Make Me Sick". Track listing below:

01 No Words/No Thoughts
02 Reeling the Liars In
03 Jim
04 My Birth
05 You Fucking People Make Me Sick
06 Inside Madeline
07 Eden Prison
08 Little Mouth

For more information, visit the Young God Web site.

Old clip of the Swans covering Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart":