Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Watch the Trailer for Martin Scorcese's George Harrison: Living In The Material World

A beautiful homage to a beautiful man. It's hard to believe 10 years has passed since the Quiet One lost his valiant battle with cancer. His death still ripples through the waters of time.

"George's music always spoke directly to me," Martin Scorsese recently Rolling Stone in regards to his first Beatle-related music documentary, which joins the likes of The Last Waltz and Bob Dylan: No Direction Home in the filmmaker's credit roll. "So directly that I don't think I realized just how inspiring he'd been for me until I made the picture."

Look for this documentary to air on HBO October 5 and 6th.

Tom Waits Announces New Album, Hosts "Private Listening Party"

In the true nature of one of rock's great seers, Tom Waits utilized the Internet to announced the release of his next album, Bad As Me, due out on October 25th via the Anti- label, by hosting a private listening party broadcast over YouTube.

From the sound of this hilarious short, the music on Tom's first new album in seven years sounds like its gonna be a goodie.

Track List:
01. Chicago 02. Raised Right Men 03. Talking At The Same Time 04. Get Lost 05. Face To The Highway 06. Pay Me 07. Back In The Crowd 08. Bad As Me 09. Kiss Me 10. Satisfied 11. Last Leaf 12. Hell Broke Luce 13. New Year's Eve

For more information, head over to www.tomwaits.com

Tuesday, August 9, 2011


Cla$$war is another superhero story for grown ups by Com-x. A chaotic establishing challenging 21st century deconstruction. A 00's Watchmen. The nationalism that arose in the post 9/11 is the perfect target for superhero fiction. Cla$$war uses a superhero to represent the american spirit. a spirit that transcends the efforts of those in charge to distort it and make it ugly. It's a spirit of rebelliouness and indivudality that cannot be distilled or manipulated. we will not abide being lied to. once again comics prove to be a great medium for examining the times we live in.

Friday, August 5, 2011


While the world is preparing the unveiling of the documentary celebrating the 20th anniversary of the mighty Pearl Jam, another great Seattle band who doesn't quite get their fair share of accolades these days is also celebrating a milestone in the creative timeline as well. That being Queensryche, who came together in 1981 with a shared love for Pink Floyd and Judas Priest and created one of the most distinct sounds to grace heavy metal in the Reagan era and are now on tour in commemoration of their 30th anniversary as well as in support of their new album, Dedicated to Chaos, easily their best work since Empire.

IRT was on hand for their fourth stop on the six-month long trek at the Mayo Center's Community Theatre in Morristown, NJ, where the group dug deep into their extensive catalog to span the entirety of their career. And while our cut-off was 1993's Promised Land album, leaving us scratching our heads a bit for about half the show over what song was from 1997's Hear in the Now Frontier and what was from 2009's American Soldier, it was the moments when they broke out the gold, such as "The Lady Wore Black" from the first EP, a killer version of "Screaming in Digital" off Rage for Order and a transcendent performance of "Eyes of A Stranger" off their 1988 concept masterpiece Operation: Mindcrime that made the evening a special one.

01 Get Started
02 Damaged
03 I Don't Believe in Love
04 Hit the Black
05 The Hands
06 A Dead Man's Words
07 At 30,000 Feet
08 Rhythm of Hope
09 Real World
10 NM 156
11 Screaming in Digital
12 The Lady Wore Black
13 Walk in the Shadows
14 The Right Side of My Mind
15 Around the World
16 Silent Lucidity
17 Jet City Woman
18 Empire
19 Eyes of a Stranger / Anarchy X-tra