Thursday, July 8, 2010


Recorded at Marcata Studios in good old Gardiner, NY, the long-awaited Swans reunion album, My Father Will Guide Me Up a Rope to the Sky, will be released on September 21 via frontman Michael Gira's Young God Records. The new album consists of a line-up featuring Gira and original Swan Norman Westberg, later-period members Christoph Hahn and Phil Puleo, as well as Flux Information Sciences guru Chris Pravdica, one-time Swans member/current R.E.M./Venus 3 drummer Bill Rieflin and Shearwater percussionist Thor Harris, not to mention Grasshopper of Mercury Rev on "a swarm of mandolins". The album also features Gira's three-year-old daughter Saoirse singing on a song the charmingly titled "You Fucking People Make Me Sick". Track listing below:

01 No Words/No Thoughts
02 Reeling the Liars In
03 Jim
04 My Birth
05 You Fucking People Make Me Sick
06 Inside Madeline
07 Eden Prison
08 Little Mouth

For more information, visit the Young God Web site.

Old clip of the Swans covering Joy Division's "Love Will Tear Us Apart":

No comments: