Wednesday, November 25, 2009


(Nov.24th, 2009 - New York , NY ) – Legendary trip-hop duo Massive Attack are set to release their highly anticipated 5th studio album Heligoland on EMI’s Virgin Records on February 9th, 2010. Last month, the duo released their first new material in three years, giving fans a preview of Heligoland with a 4-song EP Splitting the Atom which features 2 album tracks and 2 album track remixes. Heligoland features an all star cast of guest vocals from Damon Albarn, Hope Sandoval, Martina Topley-Bird, Guy Garvey and Tunde Adebimpe. Long time cohort Horace Andy makes a return alongside Massive Attack founding members Robert Del Naja (3D) and Grand Marshall (Daddy G). Damon also plays bass on ‘’Flat Of The Blade’ and keyboards on ‘Splitting The Atom’ while Portishead’s Adrian Utley plays guitar on ‘Saturday Come Slow’. The band also collaborated with DFA’s Tim Goldsworthy on selected tracks. The cover artwork features an original image by Robert Del Naja.

Over the last three years Robert Del Naja has written and produced soundtracks for a number of films and documentaries, including ‘Trouble In The Water’, ’44 Inch Chest’, ‘In Prison My Whole Life’ and ‘Gomorra’, the latter for which he won the David Di Donatello Award for Best Song. Earlier this year, Massive Attack won the Outstanding Contribution to British Music Award at the Ivor Novello Awards. In September, Massive Attack headlined this year’s Bestival ahead of their first full UK tour in three years. They have just announced a few more UK dates in February and are expected to announce a U.S. tour next year.

Heglioland track listing:

Pray For Rain - featuring Tunde Adebimpe

Babel – featuring Martina Topley-Bird

Splitting The Atom – featuring Robert del Naja/Grant Marshall/Horace Andy

Girl I Love You – featuring Horace Andy

Psyche – featuring Martina Topley-Bird

Flat Of The Blade – featuring Guy Garvey

Paradise Circus – featuring Hope Sandoval

Rush Minute – featuring Robert del Naja

Saturday Come Slow – featuring Damon Albarn

Atlas Air – featuring Robert del Naja

"Psyche" feat. Martina Topley-Bird

No comments: