Tuesday, March 30, 2010


After a couple of years of wishing, waiting and hoping, longtime fans of The Cure's singular 1989 masterpiece can finally rejoice on May 25th, 2010, when Rhino will continue with their reissue campaign of the English goth greats' catalog with a super deluxe 3-CD edition of Disintegration.

Like the previous Cure reissues, the album will feature a second disc with Smith’s home and studio demos for the album; the Disintegration rarities disc features 20 songs recorded in 1988 and 1989, including album cuts and b-sides, plus previously unreleased tracks “Noheart,” “Esten” and “Delirious Night” (Smith’s post lists his solo cover of Wendy Waldman’s “Pirate Ships” — originally recorded for Elektra Records’ Rubáiyát compilation — as previously unreleased, but he did offer it up as a download on the band’s Web site a few years ago). (See full tracklist below.)

The third disc, labled Entreat Plus, features an expanded, 12-track edition of that 1990 live album, fleshed out to include live versions of each song off Disintegration, assembled in order, from a concert at London’s Wembley Arena in 1989.

Smith explains that the single CD and double vinyl only will feature the remastered 12-track album (it’s worth noting that Disintegration originally was released on vinyl as a single record without so-called “bonus tracks” “Last Dance” and “Homesick”). The Cure frontman also writes that “it is likely a remastered version of the original eight-track Entreat live album will be made available online.”

But most tantalizing to fans is Smith’s sign-off: “There will be a lot more remastered Cure stuff in 2010… including Mixed Up 2…” (apparently a sequel to the 1990 remix album) as well as “The Cure @ The BBC box set… ‘In Orange’ and (1993 concert film) ‘Show’ on DVD… and…”

Tracklist: The Cure, Disintegration: Deluxe Edition

Disc 1: Disintegration

1. “Plainsong”
2. “Pictures Of You”
3. “Closedown”
4. “Lovesong”
5. “Last Dance”
6. “Lullaby”
7. “Fascination Street”
8. “Prayers For Rain”
9. “The Same Deep Water As You”
10. “Disintegration”
11. “Homesick”
12. “Untitled”

Disc 2: Rarities (1988-1989)

1. “Prayers For Rain” rs Home Demo (instrumental) 04/88
2. “Pictures Of You” rs Home Demo (instrumental) 04/88
3. “Fascination Street” rs Home Demo (instrumental) 04/88
4. “Homesick” band Rehearsal (instrumental) 06/88
5. “Fear Of Ghosts” band Rehearsal (instrumental) 06/88
6. “Noheart” band Rehearsal (instrumental) 06/88*
7. “Esten” band Demo (instrumental) 09/88*
8. “Closedown” band Demo (instrumental) 09/88
9. “Lovesong” band Demo (instrumental) 09/88
10. “2late (alt Version)” band Demo (instrumental) 09/88
11. “The Same Deep Water As You” band Demo (instrumental) 09/88
12. “Disintegration” band Demo (instrumental) 09/88
13. “Untitled (alt Version)” studio Rough (instrumental) 11/88
14. “Babble (alt Version)” studio Rough (instrumental) 11/88
15. “Plainsong” studio Rough (guide Vocal) 11/88
16. “Last Dance” studio Rough (guide Vocal) 11/88
17. “Lullaby” studio Rough (guide Vocal) 11/88
18. “Out Of Mind” studio Rough (guide Vocal) 11/88
19. “Delirious Night” rough Mix (vocal) 12/88*
20. “Pirate Ships” (rs Solo) Rough Mix (vocal) 12/89*

All previously unreleased versions
(*Previously unreleased song)

Disc 3: Entreat Plus

1. “Plainsong”*
2. “Pictures Of You”
3. “Closedown”
4. “Lovesong”*
5. “Last Dance”
6. “Lullaby”*
7. “Fascination Street”
8. “Prayers For Rain”
9. “The Same Deep Water As You”*
10. “Disintegration”
11. “Homesick”
12. “Untitled”

Recorded live at Wembley Arena 1989; remixed by Rs 2009
(*Previously unreleased performance)

"Fascination Street" Live 1990 in Leipzig:

No comments: